* Travelling with my old 78 rpm gramophone *

with:

perry como / lecuana cuban boys / maurice chevalier / frankie laine / nat king cole/ alfonso esparza / burt ambrose orchestra / edmundo ros

Last friday, I bought a couple of 78 rpm shellac records at an old music store, I took my old gramophone & went to a lovely garden birthday party of a good friend for there was no electricity, so I played these songs on the gramophone. It was such a lovely atmosphere in the garden, flipping the records every 3 minutes, making some pauses, repeating some songs – though I did not have a lot of 10″ shellacs with me.

Most of the songs are from the 20ies and 30ies, I found the songs via the beautiful archive.org 78 collection here the last days on the net and recorded it again here. It´s not exactly the set of that night, I left out a maurice chavalier & one german swingtrack, the edmundo ros track is not “moonlight on bresil” but a nice version of “bresil” & I added an amazing early version of the lecuana cuban boys “taboo”.

“I shall be filled with music, sweet melodie of love”
P1070597

This entry was posted in playlists / mixes / compilations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

